Apr. 13th, 2003

it's true

Apr. 13th, 2003 01:51 am
squamous: (gnome)
The Coca-Cola Company needs to make me a caffeine-free version of their diet Vanilla Coke.
squamous: (Default)
A&E is about to show a very timely "IRS Horror Stories" program, but I am opting to watch "Scare Tactics" on the Sci Fi Channel, since I want to see people terrorized by hoaxed bigfoots and aliens and such. The IRS show will probably be better. Someday, TiVo.

Another lazy weekend. Sort of wish I had another idle day, to tell you the truth, but there is a lot I need to get done at the office. Work has been taking a lot out of me lately; I think it's the stress, self-induced and otherwise. Mostly self-induced I'm sure. So this weekend, I didn't do much. Read some last night, lazed around today. Took a long nap. Been what they call a 'mouse potato' tonight. I wonder if we'll be 'closed' for Good Friday now that the company is half-Catholic. Probably not. I assume Mike is going out of town for Easter though. I guess I don't really care much either way.

Cuba Executes Men Charged In Hijacking. Has there ever been a Communist nation that didn't rapidly degenerate into a horrible police state? I guess it's just in their DNA. Yet there are still people who think someday it will work. Scary.

Here is an interesting read, one tank commander's comments on his journey to Baghdad. It could easily be the reporter's 'spin' but one thing that jumped out at me was this line:

"The war he and his fellow soldiers expected to last five days has dragged on more than four times that long. The war they were told would lead to quick victory for the United States against the forces of Iraqi strongman Saddam Hussein instead turned into a long, slow slog into the unfriendly streets of Baghdad..."

Hrmmm. Lately there has been a lot of smart remarks about how many voices in the media rushed to label this war a 'quagmire' after only a few days. Fine. As a seperate issue though, I am bothered if the soldiers themselves truly were sent in expecting some 'cakewalk'. That's just no good.

Meanwhile the controversial 'DEBKAfile' is strongly suggesting there is going to be military action against Syria. They probably aren't the only ones predicting this.

OK this Scare Tactics thing is awful and I am wondering how they make sure none of the people that they set up pull out weapons. You have some little chupacabra jump out and start humping my leg, I might just stab it like a regular tough guy. Well. In my violent fantasies anyway. But I'll keep watching to see if it's so bad it's good or whatever. Now they have some Anton LaVey bullshit going on. Damn it I wanted Bigfoot not this Eyes Wide Shut crap.

I read some fine and very funny journals on this here LiveJournal. I was admiring some today. I have thought of adding more but I can hardly keep up with what I've got now. Anyway I think I've got the good ones already.
squamous: (lousy)
OK, I can't say Scare Tactics is good. It is cruel and it is fairly stupid. A surprising number of the participants seem to know what is going on as soon as the "We're on Scare Tactics!" words (or the equivalent) are blurted out. I wouldn't know what the hell they were talking about. I am sort of getting into a groove with the show though, where I am curious to see what new ordeal they will trot out. They took some poor bastard out into the desert and had him shooting a 'plasma weapon' at targets. Supposedly Shannen Doherty's uncle was the inventor or something, and Shannen was there, and when the 'mark' accidentally shot the uncle (in a set up) Shannen tore into him. I swear I think I have had a nightmare just exactly like that before.

Another segment involved taking some recent immigrant who couldn't speak perfect english to a cemetery. The friend who was setting him up for the show hopped into a coffin that was on display, closed the lid, then claimed she couldn't get out. Poor Balki went looking for help... but it turned out that he didn't know the english word for casket! Mean-spirited hilarity followed.

I was somehow inspired by this adventure with unscripted television to watch the Al-Jazeera POW video from 3-23. I figured it was safe to look at it now that the POWs were free (for which, hooray... what great news... those 5 plus the 2 Apache pilots). Hrmmm. It was pretty grisly. The way the camera kept panning over the corpses for the first part of the video... just disturbing. I had seen one still from that segment, with some fucker grinning at the camera like a cartoon wolf. Matt Drudge had that image on his web page for a day or so. The POW grilling seemed like a pretty blatant attempt to score an even bigger propaganda victory, which probably worked. Hm so I guess maybe they stored Jessica Lynch apart from these five because she was more severely wounded...?

Profile

squamous: (Default)
squamous

February 2018

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
1819 2021222324
25262728   

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 07:59 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios