Aug. 11th, 2002

sunday

Aug. 11th, 2002 01:17 pm
squamous: (Default)
Hm OK I know I need to stop being such a sad sack. It's adolescent and unflattering. Still, I like being honest. Honest if weird I suppose. But from now on I need to be a real hard-charger right! Yes!

I will say that I sometimes think I am too much the disciple of the path of least resistance. And I think sometimes the route that appears easiest has some unforseen costs in the long run. Ah I dunno, let me just say if everyone was like me, we would all still be laying around in caves making vague plans to someday look into discovering fire. Also I tend not to fight for the cause of myself, or pursue people, or ever be assertive about anything in romance... it's just distasteful to me somehow. I guess I am quick to embrace negative concepts of myself or something. But no more right? Or at least I'll shut up about it now.

This morning I ate some yogurt, since I wanted to get some of that acidopholus in me, and had not eaten yogurt in awhile, and won't (so far as I know) be partaking of it while in THE ZONE. Geez that starts tomorrow. I also rode chopper for awhile, which was good. I used to do 10 miles a day on that thing, now I am doing a half-hour a day and only going like seven miles. It is doing something for me though I think, and it's a start.

Watched "This Week" this morning again, which I really really need to stop doing. All the politicians talking out of the side of their mouths just get me all riled. It reminds me of how I felt during the Bill Clinton blow job circus, where I couldn't understand how magically every pundit's opinion fell down straight along party lines. People who were raising hell back during the Clarence Thomas hearings were excusing Clinton the cad. Why would Republicans inherently be upset that Clinton took advantage of some young woman, then cavalierly and arrogantly lied about it? Why would Democrats defend this? It was all just partisanship, and it bugged the hell right out of me. I need to just live and vote like a free, responsible person and ignore all this shit.

Supposed to go to Mike's for dinner today. Jim and Jes will be there too, so that will be fun. I am sure I will be enlisted for storytime too. Hrmmm. That is always flattering and can be fun but hopefully there will be some balance today, too. I mean I like talking to adults too. But the kids are fun in the right amount and I am lucky to have friends who kinda share their kids with me.

Not sure if we are gonna go out to watch the Perseids tonight or not. I hope so, sorta, even if I am a little wary of the resulting wanged sleep cycle. Falling stars are cool, getting out away from city lights is cool... could definitely be a lot of fun. Mike was saying we should get up at like 3 a.m. and head out to someplace dark.... We'll see. Not sure where we should go around here and the "dark sky finder" online is not working right now.

Sounds like Sanjiv is not hired just yet, but it is looking promising. So, that is cool.

Oh also saw a couple episodes of Invader Zim this morning. Didn't like it when I first saw it - not a Jhonen Vasquez fan - but my friend Ryan's enthusiasm for it got me looking at it again, and ultimately it won me over. Pretty funny stuff... so cheerfully grotesque.

Thought for the day. Who and what would I be now if there was no Internet? And what of yourself, in such a context? In high school I dug BBS' and was a phreaker and warez trader... this was in the early to mid 80s no less... dumpster diving and stuff... in college I worked on a VAX and read Usenet groups, and did some email... at EnterAct we explored various online services (Applelink, Compuserve, AOL - AOL was at the time not expected to make it!)... when I lived in Dallas I got heavily into the BBS around there... then at Apple I got ahold of Nuntius and Mosaic and there I went, online for good. I wonder what I am unbalancing in life, that I lavish such time and attention on one or another computer screen? Who knows maybe bereft of this diversion I would've buckled down long ago and would be some badass by now. Yeah. Or probably I'd own a game console of some sort, or watch more TV.

perseids

Aug. 11th, 2002 09:54 pm
squamous: (Default)
Feel awful tired this evening... sleepy. I laid down to take a nap around 3 this afternoon and slept a little over an hour. A phone call woke me up before I was ready to return to action. But, duty called. Well actually dinner called. Much better than duty.

I went over to Mike's for dinner around 5. Jim and Jes were there. Hung out with everyone while dinner was made. This was the last pre-Zone meal so Mike was making it carb-crazy... yummy bread, and 2 kinds of pasta with which to sample these 3 different pestos he had made. Before the meal we had some trampoline action, and after the dinner I took Jim and Jes for a ride in the Prius. Jes was sick so we dropped her off then cruised around some. Jim seemed to approve of the car which was nice, since he had been against me getting such an expensive machine.

Later I worked on a jigsaw with Jacob and told him some more story. It is flattering how much he enjoys them. He has decided that the Blue Knight needs to be promoted to the Golden Knight (Gold Knight?). It's funny to me how at 5 (well his fifth birthday is in a week... I need to pick up a gift or two for him this week actually) he doesn't have the same idea of a sort of fairy tale setting that someone a little older would have. He thinks the Blue Knight should have a cell phone for example. And when the Blue Knight went out to capture the infamous pirate captain Squidneck McBeck in the last story, Jacob informed me that the Blue Knight had a jet ski with lasers. Made the fight sort of one-sided and a little more abrupt than what I had originally imagined.

After they put the kids down, Mike and Jim and I walked around Mike's yard for awhile. We wanted to go see the Perseids meteor shower, but Mike felt like he needed to hang with the missus, and we also weren't sure how far we'd have to go, or how late we would need to stay up, to see a real show. So we wound up calling it a night early. I was a little bummed, but Mike and I are gonna go see what we can see Monday night around midnight, so hopefully that will be fun. I do wish that I had a chum or two who would be willing to go out someplace dark with me tonight, and lay down in the grass and watch for shooting stars. But for now here I am back in my LiveJournal world, capering for your amusement. Oh won't you see how I caper?
squamous: (Default)
Not that I really care but... "London Calling" is being used in television commercials for Jaguars?

Profile

squamous: (Default)
squamous

February 2018

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
1819 2021222324
25262728   

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 12:19 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios