Sep. 15th, 2002

boo

Sep. 15th, 2002 12:40 pm
squamous: (columbia)
So, the History Channel has this documentary on demonic possession on right now. This is a topic that really fascinates me. For me the devil is kinda like ghosts - I am skeptical, yet cowardly, yet always intrigued. Demonic possession though... the idea that you could actually talk to an other-than-human intelligence is an idea that blows my mind. But is any of it real...? I am skeptical. Yet scared! Strange Magazine, which I really miss in print (despite asking Jim last night why magazines even still exist... we both agreed it is because you can't take the computer into the bathroom with you) ran a great article about the story that inspired the movie The Exorcist. The article pretty thoroughly debunked the supernatural aspects of that original, real-life tale - and I have never seen any other report on these findings, despite having seen plenty of shows on cable that reference the possession story that inspired William Blatty's book.

Despite that, I still think that The Exorcist is probably the scariest and most upsetting supernatural movie I have ever seen. Really, what else is there that makes the skin crawl so? The Stanley Kubrick version of The Shining is a masterpiece as far as I am concerned, and it has some very intense moments of fear, but I can still watch it for pleasure, whereas The Exorcist just freaks me out. I know some people think it's ridiculous but... I dunno I think The Exorcist combines a lot of factors that get under my skin.

So really, what else is there? What am I forgetting? Alien traumatized me at a young age but doesn't scare me... The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is difficult to watch but not scary per se... Jaws just makes me even more afraid of being in water (and those aren't "supernatural" movies I guess)... David Lynch has a few intense moments in his work here and there but not one movie that I would say is terrifying (OK, Frank Booth and Killer Bob both come close)... Poltergeist really scared me the first time I saw it... that might be up there with The Exorcist and The Shining... hrmmm. The first Evil Dead movie kinda freaked me out....
squamous: (Default)
my secret celebrity-crush on Karen Duffy? Yes, well, it's real.

Finally called my friend Mike P. in Colorado this afternoon, only about a month after I first meant to. Wound up talking for almost 2 hours... it was great to chat with him again. He should get a LiveJournal account I think but he doesn't have a computer at home anymore. Well maybe someday.

Profile

squamous: (Default)
squamous

February 2018

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
1819 2021222324
25262728   

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 03:12 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios